Recently the We Are Spartacus Community released the Peoples Review if the WCA (Work Capability Assessment) it contained many harrowing accounts of how genuinely sick and disabled people where being denied ESA ( Employment Support Allowance).  Exposing the ritual humiliation and dehumanising process that is WCA.

Well as if that wasn’t bad enough the same thing has been happening to those applying for DLA (Disability Living Allowance)

Here i put forward another account of the same dehumanising and blatantly ignorant process that is becoming a rival to the WCA and appeal system the DLA application an appeals process… both of which are lengthy exhausting demoralising…

One woman’s story in her own words about her experience of applying for DLA in a letter she wrote to her MP…

Dear Steve Gilbert

I’m writing asking for help for the vulnerable and sick in your area,including my own family.
I worked for 18 years in your constituency but now I am unable to work because of my chronic illnesses. I have Fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome. These were triggered by the traumatic birth of my daughter ,now 5.It took a long time to get a diagnoses after being fobbed off as being depression for 4 years. After my diagnoses in June 2011 I was told that I needed to get some help. In October 2011 I applied for disability allowance after struggling for a long time without claiming the benefits I was entitled for. I was refused as I expected. I went to appeal in May 2012 at Plymouth Tribunal Centre and was awarded low rate care but I was told by the appeal court that I should get a doctors letter to confirm my deterioration of my conditions as I was now eligible for the mobility element. I did as instructed stating what the appeal court said and enclosed a doctors letter. I was refused again ,as expected, I went to appeal again last Friday at Pydar House Truro.
On Friday I went into my appeal hearing with my husband. As soon as I entered the room in my electric wheelchair one of the panel started tutting. I later found out she was the doctor. To cut a long story short I was treated like an animal. The Doctor kept asking me what exercise I did. I kept explaining that I have chronic fatigue. She kept saying,  “Yes I realise you get tired”. I don’t know what research she has done but Chronic fatigue if far more than tired. It takes me over an hour to dress then I’m so fatigued I need to sleep again. I crawl up our stairs due to the pain of the fibromyalgia. I use a wheelchair while out and crutches or sticks inside. If I didn’t use a wheelchair I wouldn’t be able to go anywhere or care for my family. If I do walk a short distance one day I wouldn’t be able to leave bed for days or weeks following but according to this tribunal that isn’t a detrimental effect to my health. The disability advisor and the doctor kept arguing so the lawyer had to keep intervening. They started interrogating my husband about his disability,he has young onset Parkinson’s. He was only there to support me. They asked personal questions and when I answered honestly they laughed and said  “it cant be that bad”. Well, I’m sorry they thought my answers were funny but it definitely isn’t funny when we have a five year old and a 3 year old we are trying to care for as well as each other. This interrogation went on for an hour and a quarter. By the end of that time I was getting so confused that I was having trouble answering their questions and was getting extremely fatigued. After telling me I should get out of my wheelchair,join a gym and walk everywhere, I was asked to leave while they made a decision. While we waited outside we could hear laughing and talking. I went back in for my decision(my husband couldn’t face going in there again). I was told that I could not get the mobility element because I can walk 100 meters,it didn’t matter what effect this would have on me. This appeal couldn’t have been more different than the Plymouth tribunal where I was treated with dignity and respect.
Yes, I know that some people abuse the benefit system but under the governments own statistics most are not trying to claim DLA/ESA.My husband and my self have always worked since leaving school. My husband was in the Military before then going into nursing. I was a joiner for 18 years. We both do voluntary work alongside youth work in our Local church when our disability’s allow and always have done along side our work. We didn’t choose to become ill. We had our children before our disabilities became apparent. We were bought up to care for those in need and to protect the vulnerable. It looks like this government does not accept those principles. I dint know what you can do,if anything but I need my local representative in the Government to know what’s going on, on your own doorstep. The disabled cannot go on like this. Some have died before they have got to their appeal. Most of us fear brown envelopes dropping onto our door mat. We no longer expect good news,we expect bad. Some cant take anymore rejection and end their own lives or die from the illnesses that the department of work and pensions have said they can actually work with. This is not acceptable in our modern world, what’s next extermination camps for the sick and disabled.
What are you going to do about it?
Yours Sincerely
Mrs CR

There are many thousands more stories just like this one… maybe ill bring you some more…

When will the Government recognise that a process that was designed to weed out fraud has actually become a way to punish the sick and disabled? And what are we punishing them for? you ask,  Well for being sick and disabled of course. Like it’s actually a choice to have your hopes and dreams ripped from you, to never have the career you worked for or the children you long for or to simply be able to have the independence and dignity that others take for granted…

Ignorance is no excuse! This Government needs to learn we have our own power and… We call for change!

So Say We All… Dxxx

If you would like to share your DLA experience feel free to contact me…

