Hi All, time for another guest post this is regarding the coming PIP regulations FibroGirl, and 500,000 disabled people are  asking for your help… Dxxx

A call to arms – PIP needs you

I was moved to roll up my campaigning sleeves late in 2011 when I finally dipped my toes in the water of twitter and followed the bread crumbs to see what was happening. Until that point I felt alone with my struggles.

The endless forms, justifying myself and my illness, learning to live with the fact I would never again be able to work or even plan more than a day ahead and even that was good going. Dealing with the loss of ME And watching my loved ones adjusting to this person who now had to walk with a stick that lead on to a wheelchair and some days never getting out of bed.

I was one lone voice lost in a wilderness and I found through the Spartacus campaign, and getting involved gave me hope. It also gave me a purpose again.

I well remember the collective swell of pride and excitement as the Spartacus report went to print and Lord Frued and his cronies panicked, giving more ground than it was ever thought possible.

Its impossible to sustain that energy, like any long term campaign it ebbs and flows. But once again its time to get stuck in – the summer has seen ESA and the dreaded work capability tests and scrounger rhetoric being challenged, pushing the politicians to wake up and smell the coffee. It’s been quiet on the PIP front since we all worked so hard to get the consultation work in.

Now my friends it’s a call to arms, the PIP regulations go back to Parliament very soon, the new disability minister says before the Christmas recess – The sly tactics adopted by Maria Miller have been taken up by Esther McVey.

Avoiding going before the Work and Pensions select committee   Esther McVey letter

But telling them she plans to publish the government’s response on the SAME day as the secondary regulations are laid before parliament. In other words giving us no time to analyse them or effectively lobby our Mps and Lords before hand.

On top of this it has come to light that the government has reneged on another promise to release the 5000 responses to the initial consultation the one PIP is based on – Maybe they thought we would go away if they stayed quiet for long enough… Well I for one don’t plan to stay quiet.

I decided to write this template letter in response to Sue marsh’s request about the initial PIP consultation responses.

Attached is the link to the letter I’m sending to my MP – feel free to use it. MP template letter

Join with me and lets show this government that we have not gone silent or forgotten just how much our collective power is worth. We wont get it repealed but we can and must force them to give as much ground as possible for the sake of the 500,000 and rising who will loose out, it could be me or you.

FibroGirl

To find your MP’s contact details follow this link

