As a part time self employed person who will be forced to close my business and then lose my job because it would also fall below the minimum income floor I would no longer be able to work as I need extreem flexability in my work place. How many employers would allow me to work from a bed… I can do that in my business… Universal Credit the biggest threat to self employment in a generation… Dxxx

The lovely wibbly wobbly old lady

Main article reposted from The RSA (Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce)

Some of you may recall an article I published in June of this year about  Iain Duncan Smith via Jobcentre plus, pushing people into self employment without giving them proper advice about the “side effects”. Their only concern was skewing the statistics so that it looked as if more people were “employed” 

You can read the article here  http://glynismillward189.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/is-self-employment-the-panacea-for-all-our-ills/

As this article from RSA seems to suggest,  there is yet another side effect!

In theory Universal Credit is a dream policy. The idea has been to streamline the welfare system, rolling six means-tested benefits into one so that work will always pay. UC is also intended to make the transition in and out of benefits more seamless, and as such accommodate workers whose income fluctuates and who find themselves flitting between jobs. In 2012 DWP estimated that…

View original post 1,173 more words

