How easy it is when you live in poverty to fall off the edge in to destitution… helped by government policy and banks policy. How insane is it to charge people who have no money extra money for being penniless… makes me so mad… we have forgotern how to see the people effected anymore… Dxxx

I'm a JSA Claimant

Food bank use is at record high says the headlines. Trussell Trust released figures recently that show that 1,109,309 three day parcels were handed out. The primary reasons are shown below.

primary-referral-causes-768x384

For nearly 3 years now I’ve been tweeting about food banks and the efforts made by local communities to support them. For almost 3 years I have shown examples of families who have needed them, some with dramatic stories that normally involve the DWP or another Government department not doing their job or being overly officious. For all that time I have tried not to become one of their statistics but now it has reached a point where I feel I have no choice.

Mine is not a headline grabbing story. Rather it is one of slowly getting into more debt, by a few pounds here and there each week. Since I went off JSA I have struggled to…

View original post 551 more words

