Tarnished with the same brush… 

Some days I feel really tired…

I had some news today that really made me look at the people around me with new eyes…

People you should be able to rely on to support and believe you… Don’t!

Is it because they don’t believe you or because they don’t see you…

On top of this sad epiphany about someone who I love and who I thought loved me and my family I come home

To a blizzard of emails, 

Mostly about a story going round that Sue Marsh is behind the new idea for a national united organisation for disabled people… 

Well the bottom line is that’s not true… Several people over the last few weeks have talked about it… Some of which have at one point or another worked with the network that Sue Marsh is associated with… Myself included… However all of us with this connection, involved in this new initiative, have not worked for the network for some time, most for many years… 

Personally I have never had a real conversation with Sue, that was more than 140 characters on Twitter, and most of those where in relation to Simon Stevens on a particularly vicious day… We’ve never spoken on the phone or in real life… I say this not to extricate myself from rumor but to point out that everyone thinks they know what’s going on inside a group or organisation… You really don’t… One day I might write it all out but today is not that day… 

Painting some one with the same brush as another is both cruel and exactly what this government does… This disabled persons a faker so they must all be… 

Ask yourself what does the creator of this lie or misinformation have to gain by undermining this endeavour?

I said openly I don’t agree with what Sue did, but I defend her right to work if she wants… 

Her right to define her own destiny… We all want that don’t we…

The national disabled organisation or what ever it ends up being called will hopefully be a united voice that supports and defends the other excellent DPOs out there rather than trying to replace or compete with them… 

It will eventually support individuals and campaign groups, with the unified voice of disabled people and with a fund that can be applied for.

This would be a significant voice for disabled people…

Who would want to undermine that…  ?

Dxxx

2 Comments Add yours

  1. fidget07 says:

    It’s rare I comment but I see this national disabled union or what ever it’s going to be called becoming a very important voice, there are approx 11 million disabled people that’s one hell of a voice if the majority join. Yes there will be ‘forces unknown’ trying to turn us against each other, disrupting where ever possible. We don’t have a voice, if we did I do wonder what the election outcome might have been if people knew the truth. Five years of fear or five years of fighting (fibro allowing) I’m sick of living in fear so I choose to fight.

  2. That’s beautifully put, thank you. It’s related to (and partly inspired) some thoughts of mine, which can be read at http://unionofdisabledpeople.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/people-and-personalities.html

Leave a comment